Ludwig Feuerbach: Band 3: Geschichte der neueren Philosophie von Bacon von Verulam bis Benedikt Spinoza

2., unchanged edition 1976.

Reviewed and edited in a revised edition by Wilhelm Bolin.
XI, 388 p., 12,0 x 17,4 cm.
ISBN 978-3-7728-0128-0
Single price:
€ 99.–

The edition by Wilhelm Bolin and Friedrich Jodl was published by our company for the first time between 1903 and 1911 in 10 volumes. Among the works written in his youth, this is the first publication of two of them, both of which are indispensable for gaining insight into Feuerbach‘s (1804-1872) philosophical development: his dissertation from 1828 and the ›Gedanken über Tod und Unsterblichkeit‹ (Thoughts on Death and Immortality) published anonymously in 1830, a work which denied Feuerbach a university career for all of his life. The youthful works contain a chronological table as well as a bibliography of the works by and about Feuerbach. This reprint contains previously unpublished Feuerbach letters which have been added to the edition of the letters from and by Feuerbach, edited by W. Bolin and published in 1904. Among the letters which have been added there are 18 addressed to Arnold Ruge, and these provide some insight into the Left or Young Hegelians who were in the process of formation.


Franz Bacon von Verulam
Thomas Hobbes
Peter Gassendi
Jakob Böhme
René Descartes
Arnold Geulincx
Nicolas Malebranche
Benedikt Spinoza

© frommann-holzboog Verlag e.K. 2024